General info

General info

Kyrgyzstan is a beautiful country in Central Asia, it bordered on countries such as Kazakhstan in the north, Uzbekistan on the west, Tajikistan in the south and China on its East and South-East. The former Republic of the Soviet Union received its independence in 1991 and since then it is a democratic Presidential Republic. Bishkek was formerly called Frunze , it is the capital with a population of more than 1 million people. The country as a whole has about 5 million inhabitants and the area of 198.500 km2.

Bishkek - 74 (East (Similar to New Delhi).

Bishkek - 42 (North Similar to Istanbul, Madrid, New York. 

Highest point is 7437 m Pobeda Peak
Lowest point is 401 m named the Lailak district in the Ferghana Valley
Average elevation is 2750 m
Elevation of Bishkek is 750 m 
93% of Kyrgyzstan is higher than 1500 m above sea level, and 41% above 3000m. 

198,500 sq. km (76641 sq. miles)
It is similar to England and roughly equal to the combined areas of Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands.
925 km East-West: 453 km North-South 
The total length of Kyrgyzstan's borders is 4507 km.

Neighboring Countries 
China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan. 

6 million 
Density is 24 per sq. km    
38% are urban, 62% rural
51% are female, 49% male
About one sixth of the population lives and works in Bishkek.
The Kyrgyz make up just over 50% of the population. The major ones are among 70 other nationalities:     
The Russians (17%), Uzbeks (13%), Ukrainians, Germans and Tatars.
40% of the population is under 14 years old and 8% of the population is over 60 years old.
When the Republic received its independence there was large-scale migration of ethnic Russians and Germans because of the decline of industrial job chances and growing Kyrgyz nationalism.

Muslim (Sunni), and Russian Orthodox.

State language is called Kyrgyz.  Official is Russian, (In common use particularly in the capital and Northern region).

Life Expectancy 
In 1995: Male: 63.9 - Female: 72.6

National symbols:
Flag, State Emblem.

Administrative structure: 
The territory of Republic is divided into 8 administrative districts. There are 7 regions locally known as "oblasts":
Chu Oblast,
Issyk-Kul Oblast,
Talas Oblast,
Naryn Oblast,
Osh Oblast,
Djalal-Abad Oblast,
Batken Oblast,
and the capital district of Bishkek.
The oblasts are subdivided into 39 rayons (districts). Bishkek has 4 districts. The districts consist of a total of 429 local communities (Ail okmotu).

Membership of international organizations: 
Kyrgyzstan is part of United Nations (and its specialized agencies such as UNDP, UNESCO, UNICEF, UNIDO, UNHCR), IOM, Central Asian Economic Community, World Bank, WHO, FAO, ILO; CIS, GIS, ECO,IMF, EBRD, IDB, ICAO, OECD, OSCE, Intelsat, WTO - World Trade Organization, WTO World Tourism Organization, Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO).


Here you can find useful information that will help you during the trip:



Kyrgyz visa


Mountains in Kyrgyzstan  

Sights and highlights - Issyk Kul lake    

Sights and highlights: Rukh Ordo complex

Khan Tengri in Kyrgyzstan